586,156 active members*
3,980 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: G-rex issues

G-rex issues

to start I'm not an electronics expert, so I purchased a Gerber AR 600 cnc router, ran it about 4 months before the main board went bad. A friend with a waterjet company recomended someone that could retro fit my machine, we got that done, he used a Keiling Technologies package, with one exception, he used a G-rex or G-100, because of the Cat 6 connection, this worked fine for about a year, but every once in a while the machine is cutting fine and just stops, the Mach 3 screen reads e-stop fault. First it started doing this while cutting, then it started doing this during travel, and jog, it does this at random, sometimes I have to turn it off and re-start it to get it to do a whole cut job, somedays it doesn't have any issues, I e-mailed Gecko and they gave me a load of bull about it being software related, if it was software related it would stop any time it did a certian function, it doesn't it all random, sometimes it will finish a cut file the spindle will raise & stop and when I try to jog the machine I get an e-stop fault, I have put 2 & 2together and since this item is no longer produced or even on Geckos site I'm willing to guess that this is the problem, my problem is that I'm sorta stuck with an ethernet hookup it would take a good amount of time to switch over to a parallel setup, does anyone have any suggestions.