586,609 active members*
3,621 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Handful of Easy (hopefully) Newbie Questions

Exclamation Handful of Easy (hopefully) Newbie Questions

Well, first let me introduce myself saying that I have very little experience with CNC and CAD work, but I am pretty computer literate and have been able to do ALOT so far with what I have to work with. I have a small (13x25) 3 axis Router machine (it was a DIY machine) with Mach3 It is a great little machine and very sturdy and has been doing alot for me! I also have access to Mastercam 4x. So here are the problems that I have run into so far and cant seem to fix. I have searched this forum and the internet, and I am still confused.

1. I make some code with mastercam and upload it into Mach3. I home the router to the top of the material (i place the bit right on the top). When I go to execute my code, it moves to the X,Y without first bringing the Z up to the "clearance". This causes some unwanted scars in my material. The clearance is set at .5 in Mastercam, and it works throughout the whole program, just not at start! Help me here!

2. When using contours in MasterCam, I select chain, and select the machine to route the "inside" of the chain. For some reason mastercam likes to ignore this, and it alternates between the inside and outside of different chains. So lets say I want to cut the word "CNC" out with contours, it cuts the Inside of the "C" while cutting the outside of the "N" and what not. This happens if I do it as one routine, or separate ones. This is quite annoying. I am using a 1/32 bit and there is plenty of room for the bit to fit. Especially since If I use the "Pocket" routine, it will do it perfectly! So I have been doing pocket and skipping to the final cut and let that run, but this shouldnt be!