586,116 active members*
3,507 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Laser power for cardboard cutting

Hello to all, I'm new in this forum but I'm not a newbie in mechanical engineering. I work in a firm where we design automation machines, and we received some enquiries about hte possibility of making a router for cutting corrugated cardboard with a laser beam. (flame2)

Obviously we said yes, it's clear that this could be done, but laser is a new product for us, we don't know this technology.
    Yes, we know that is a coherent beam of light, we know this could be generated from LED or tube, and the other common things that almost everyone know about it, but our questions are:

- is laser capable to cut five layer of paper (corrugated cardboard with double wave layer)? it's about 1/4" thick, but paper is only 50 mils, the other is air (trapped)

- does it require a large amount of power?

- is there any supplier that sell unit suitable for this application?

i did some searches on google, but I didn't found anything that could be suitable for this application at a reasonable price. We imagine that a unit for doing this operation shall cost about $500-1000 but it's only an idea.

Could someone please help us?

Many thanks & my best regards

Luca

1) Equipment will not fit your budget :banana: and if you want design and sell it - be ready for numbers like 10 000 USD
    2) You can cut only one layer during cycle
    3) For corrugated board air assist with nytrogen is must

What size parts do you need to cut? How many do you need to cut? It may be in your best interest to outsource the project if you only need a few thousand pieces or less, because you're going to need to invest at minimum $6-8k plus the nitrogen system. You'll need the nitrogen to prevent the cardboard from igniting.