586,375 active members*
3,552 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > Am I Looking for NOISE trouble (RF45 Conversion)

Am I Looking for NOISE trouble (RF45 Conversion)

I have been working on an RF45 style mill conversion for like 3 years! It's getting close and starting to work on the electronics. So this is what am about to do. I have an IGUS cable chain that will carry all the cables and hoses from my control box, up the back of the column and to the head.

In the cable chain I will have the power Wires for the VFD to the motor,
    an Airline for power draw bar, Coolant line, 120Volt Power line to controll some air solenoids and a USB cable to connect to a POKEYS board in the head.

I have converted the head to belt drive, so I no longer have any gears in the head. I plan on using the empty head cavity to house the air solenoids and POKey (Usb I/O board) and a few other odds and ends, such as an Tachometer pickup. I also plan on mounting a 4 line lcd module on the front of the head and have the POKeys drive messages to it such as RPM and XYZ position, etc...

So here is the real question.....
    I know VFD lines can very noisy and considering that my plan is to have a USB cable run in parrallel with the VFD lines is this totally impossible to get it work considering noise issues? Should I even try this?

do you have any suggestions
    Thanks!
    Bob

This is just a guess because I do not have direct, hands-on experience with either a VFD or a pokeys board. So feel free to ignore the following comments.

(comments removed to avoid possible misinformation)

doorknob, I'd agree with you, if your basic premise of vfd noise being low freq of at most a few hundred hz was right! please don't get upset with me contradicting you! It is GREAT that everyone gives their ideas!!