586,301 active members*
4,119 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

lookin for AL. need help

I'm new to this internet forum thing, so bear with me please. I'm searching for knowlege. I'm working on a fanuc A06B-6055-H212 spindle drive for an 11TTF control. Main PCB A20B-1001-0120. Small PCB A20B-0008-024. I started testing Transistor Modules. They are Fugi A050L-0001-0109/M. (evl32-060d).
    As you know they are Darlington.. if not Double. My question is this..can I test C1,B1,E1 forwards and back, find a fault in all 4 TMs, and know that they are shorted? Or do i need to involve C2,B2,E2? I do all testing with no wires attached. I'm used to yaznak. lot less things in there.

Thanks

Yes you should be able to test with a meter, the problem is if the fault is on the firing board you stand the risk of blowing a set of IGBT's if this is the case, Fanuc recommend testing the board also.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Thanks for the response Al. Let me give you a short rundown and you tell me what you think.I just started work at a new shop that had bought a used machine a few months before I started.They fired it up,all good. Spindle,x1,x2,z1,z2 all good(in manual and auto). With no chuck,it was not put into production. They would fire it up once a month just to keep it warm. When I started, it was my First priority. All good other than spindle,wont spin. Throws AL-02(which it should.Im telling it to go 500, and its going 0). My first thought is TMs. According to my knowledge, C to E test should never conduct.
    Forwards or backwards. The C1 to E1 do conduct one way.And thats only the 1St half of the TM. All 4 TMs test the same.

So here is my search for Knoweledge....

1) Am I right when I assume that All TMs are bad? (they all conduct C1 to E1 one way)