586,290 active members*
3,928 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie needs advice

Hi all,

Absolute newbie to DIY CNC'ing and in my haste bought a nema 17 3 axis kit. I'm wanting to build a 3 x 2 ft CNC out of MDF and I'm now thinking that my 17's aren't going to cut it in the power department.

I really don't want to buy larger motors so I'm wondering if there is a way I can make the nema 17's work for me. A couple of ideas I've had are

* Weight saving (Plywood or drilling weight saving holes)
    * Program incredibly slow velocity/acceleration into the motors
    *Fixed gantry (although I need it to be 3ft of cutting and don't really want it 6 feet long)

Anyway hope you can help either reassuring me the 17's will be adequate or with some other ideas

Thanks in advance
    Andrew

Lots of people build small machines with Size17 motors, especially if they are the new high-torque ones.

But you will probably be restricted to using threaded rods for leadscrews with lots of turns per inch, so that means slowish speeds.

If this is your first machine then you could just build it and get it cutting (even if a bit slow) then use it to start building your "dream machine". Then a working small machine can always be sold for more than what you paid for the plywood and steppers etc.

I would use timing belts and gear them 3/1 this will increase the torque and still give you decent speed/resolution. Timing belts pulleys etc are cheap and quite effieceint with good accurecy.

If you want to save weight and still have a moving gantry keeping the foot print small but with decent strength then consider 3 or 4mm Ali plate, 2 piece's per side with spacers in between bolted together, you can drill holes to lighten but will still end up with a very strong but light gantry side.
    It will be lighter than MDf last a lot longer and look cool.!! . . . Sell quicker.?