586,892 active members*
4,347 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

how to hold round bar for milling

I just ordered a sieg x2 mill. I have never used a mill before, but I am a quick learner. I need to order a vice, clamps, and other tools for my mini mill. I am not for sure of the best was to clamp the round bar for the milling and type of cuts that I need to do. I do not want to order the wrong type vise or clamps. Most all my work is done using 1" to 1.5" aluminum bar.

The reason I bought the mill, is to make air gun parts and shrouds. I have a 9x20 lathe that I have been using with a drill press to make my current shrouds. The first picture below is the type of shrouds, I have built in the past.

The following pictures are that of what I want to mill. What is the best way to hold this type work down for milling?

The long spool type part should be okay to clamp in a vise, if the spool flanges are all the same diameter, and if the vise is long enough to contain the entire length of the part.

The bottom part looks very crushable, and a vise would not work directly on that. Instead, I would use 5C collets (if the diameter is below 1"). Now, I have a 4th axis which I'd likely use to hold it, with a 5C collet on the headstock end, and I'd allow for a sacrificial stub on the opposite end of the part during the machining. This stub would be about an inch or two long, and be captured in a second 5C collet in a 'tailstock' of sorts. Actually, what I have is a cheap 5C vertical/horizontal fixture I sometimes use for this purpose. I machined up a spacer block to hold the 5C fixture at the correct height to match my indexer.