586,409 active members*
3,241 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New Guy Doing Research

I'm the new fella here since I've recently started thinking about adding a cnc plasma to the shop.

I wouldn't be adding the equipment until sometime next year so it gives me some time to do my research. Since looking into it I've been looking at the Torchmate equipment probably the most.

I emailed Torchmate the other day with some questions but haven't heard back yet.

I have quite a few years experience in the trades as a machinist, millwright, fabricator, designer, etc. But my only real cnc experience has been sending AutoCAD files to be used by others.

Some of the questions I have:

Has the Torchmate equipment proven itself as a reliable entry/mid-level machine?

Is the software reliably compatible with AutoCAD and/or .dxf files?

What are some of the major differences between the Torchmate 1, 2, etc.

Are the torchmate systems all compatible with and have reasonable changeover to oxy-fuel operation?

In your won experience with cnc plasma, have you found it is something you use often?

Have you been able to show a ROI doing small level fabrication?

I know some of these questions may be redundant but I've done the searches and still would like to hear from you guys. If I need to provide any more information please let me know.

Appreciate the assistance, Al
    [email protected]

Wink New guy doing research

Quote Originally Posted by Some of the questions I have:

Has the Torchmate equipment proven itself as a reliable entry/mid-level machine? [COLOR=Red
    I've had a Torchmate 2 going on 4 years now[/COLOR] and I have no complaints, but nothing to compare it to. There was a learning curve at first, but Tech Support was always there to give me support.