586,112 active members*
3,250 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > Really easy program question(for some)

Really easy program question(for some)

I am pretty new to CNC Milling so bear with me. Let's say I am spotting and drilling a hole in the O.D. of a ....hockey puck (easier to describe than actual part!) When I spot the hole, the chamfer is always bigger on one axis than the other because of the roundness of the part. I really don't like that look. On a Hardinge TwinTurn, i use circular interpolation and the bar rotates back and forth to put an even chamfer on the hole, but i don't know what to do on a mill. I'm assuming that I can do it with 4 - X,Y,Z, moves. I learned that this was going to be a problem when I used an Excel Spreadsheet to make a threadmilling program and there were "J" and "I" moves in the program "still don't understand what they are but it works!!!". Can someone make a sample program for me to learn from? And possibly explain the J and I moves? I do not like to make a program and not understand what every single block means!!! Thanks In Advance!

I am using a:
    Fadal VMC 88HS
    5/8"-90 Degree Indexable Spot Drill

J and I moves are in relation to X and Y moves. They take the place of R. Exapmle being :

G1G41D51X.25(tool moves in compensation to .25" from starting point in the X)
    G3I-.25(makes a CCW complete circle at .25 radius starting at X.25 and ending at X.25 (center at 0,0, 180deg position at -.25"))
    G1G40X-.25(tool moves back to start without compensation).

Same hole cut but in the Y axis as opposed to the X
    G1G41D51Y.25
    G3J-.25
    G1G40Y-.25

From what I understand, using I and J is also more precise.

Quote Originally Posted by newbie23 View Post
    When I spot the hole, the chamfer is always bigger on one axis than the other because of the roundness of the part. I really don't like that look.