586,161 active members*
3,326 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > my cheap cnc plasma cutter (650.00) works great

my cheap cnc plasma cutter (650.00) works great

i made a cnc plasma cutter with the cheapest stuff i could find.motors/driver/power supply/metal/chain.bearings included.if you want to see it work my video is on youtube under d9electro1. http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...9electro1&aq=f

Looks good. How did you do it so cheep? I thought that every thing cost allot more.

Nice work,could you please post some details on your chain and sprocket drive?

Quote Originally Posted by driberif85 View Post
    Looks good. How did you do it so cheep? I thought that every thing cost allot more.
    the computer i had.remember im still a newb compaired to the guys on here. but i will tell ya how i did it to the best of my memory.
    went to the steel store(not lowes,home depot ect...)we have two of them here where i live.bought 1 1/2" thin wall squar tubing and a 20' stick of 3" flat bar 1/8" thick. and then 1/8" angle for the legs and slats.(about 65 bucks in metal).
    i used #35 chain(i measured it to have 3/8 pitch per link). i got it off ebay(usabearings) 2 ten foot boxs.have a lot still left.
    found 2 idler sprockets on ebay.they were cheaper than i could find anywhere else.probably 1/3.but hes not a store so i got what he had. 25 tooth i believe.drive sprockets (usabearings) , 9 teeth. they had 5/8 bore so i had to put collars on my motor shafts. might have gotten them from usabearings to,cant remember.
    i bought hardware from tractor supply.use 2 grade. 1.99 a pound.