586,414 active members*
3,462 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mini Lathe > 7 x 10 HF Mini Lathe Drill Chuck suggestions
Page 1 of 2 12

7 x 10 HF Mini Lathe Drill Chuck suggestions

I am looking to order a drill chuck from McMaster-Carr (because its local for me) but I am unsure of the size/type of drill chuck that goes in the tail stop where the live center is.

I have zero experience with the lathe, but it will be arriving tomorrow and i hear it comes with no tools.

I made a small order for some 5/16" bits because I read somewhere that was the max size.

I think it is a #2 Morse Taper which I found in McMaster for $13 It goes to a #2 jacobs taper on the other side, but the drill chucks there are expensive. A keyless chuck from 1/16th-1/2" is about $63.00. Does this sound normal?

#2 morse is correct for the tailstock. The tailstock ram is pretty short, so a full length #2 will only grip with the ram extended about an inch. Just use a cut off disc in an angle grinder to chop the end off that new chuck adapter you buy. You want it to just eject before the tailstock is fully retracted.

Try to get the shortest chuck you can find. The 7x10 doesn't leave you much room.
    Regards,
    Mark

Thanks! Much appreciated!

The MT2 shaft I bought from HF was too long. Should I just cut it down on my chopsaw?

That is what I did to mine I got from HF. works fine.

Thanks.

After chopping it, you might grind/file/lathe/sand/bite/etc. a small bevel to eliminate any burr and prevent the near 90 deg edge from digging into the taper in the tail.
    Wen I was young, I spent most of my money on fast women, slow horses, and cheap booze. The rest of it I just wasted.

Yea, sounds like a plan. I wonder if my hacksaw would work, or if the chopsaw would be a better idea.

They are normally hardened. My hacksaw just skated off the one I bought.
    Regards,
    Mark