586,138 active members*
3,509 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Lightbulb easiest to use windows based program

anyone have an opinion on the easiest to use program that is windows based? or is there any reason not to use a windows based program? i also want the ability to drop in DXF files from Cadkey and be able to run those.

any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

i'm new to this and really don't know what i'm looking for, so keep that in mind. this software is to run my 8x30 mill (G1005 style). i can do the hardware but i'm lost on software. i am using gecko drives and servo motors with encoders if that makes a difference.

Easy is a relative term....

I can't say one way or another if something is "Easy" or not. With CNC it's either all complicated, or all simple, depends on you.

For me, Autocad is the worst drafting tool ever created and CADKEY is about the easiest, but I think there are tens of thousands of people that would dissagree with me.

I have plenty of industrial experience with CNC machines and a wide variety of controls and only tried two hobby style CNC controller applications:

KCAM
    MACH3 www.artofcnc.ca

Kcam is basic and simple - and that is where the road begins and ends.

MACH3 on the other hand can be pretty simple if you keep things simple. If you want a lot of power, features, abilitiy to change things, create your own cycles, alter the appearance of screens, work with servos or steppers, interface with industrial PLCs, then MACH3 is also a good choice.

I have not tried all the hobby CNC controllers out there, so keep in mind my position and point of view. I highly recommend MACH3 software - download and try it out for free and there is plenty of support on the yahoo group for it.

My search ended with MACH, I frankly have no desire to look at other controller applications unless they can beat the price and performance of MACH.