4,015 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Electric foundry

Hello,

Does anyone know where can I buy a small electric foundry
    Yes I am a newbie trying to reuse my aluminum pile of off cuts

Foundry=Furnace? Try a gas one as a starter.....way way way cheaper than an induction furnace! or even charcoal as a tester?

Induction is an "in at the deep end" for a first time caster.
    Keith

I live in australia
    Where can I buy a gas furnace for aluminium?

Could you show me a gas furnace website here? Right now I plan to buy induction furnace, but if gas a lot cheaper then I will see them. Thanks.

go to lindsaybks.com get dave gingerys series. build it yourself its cheap and easy. Propane is best overall. charcoal is messy, electric is very slow. gas works great. go cheap--pound up furnace in 5 gal can-use sand and clay will work fine to get started.
    Dave
    In the words of the Toolman--If you didn't make it yourself, it's not really yours!
    Remember- done beats perfect every time!!

http://www.backyardmetalcasting.com/

Read everything you can about safety before starting to melt anything.

bob

Quote Originally Posted by chris123 View Post
    I live in australia
    Where can I buy a gas furnace for aluminium?
    Australia!....Hard cheese old man

A furnace for melting Al is a simple enough endeavour.
    Keith

Quote Originally Posted by beone View Post
    go to lindsaybks.com get dave gingerys series. build it yourself its cheap and easy. Propane is best overall. charcoal is messy, electric is very slow. gas works great. go cheap--pound up furnace in 5 gal can-use sand and clay will work fine to get started.
    Dave
    Slow? compared to what.....rubbing two pieces of Al together?

Elaborate please on the induction furnace you refer to. :cheers:
    Keith

Propane is best overall. charcoal is messy, electric is very slow. gas works great. go cheap--pound up furnace in 5 gal can-use sand and clay will work fine to get started.