586,390 active members*
3,087 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Door open request

Ok, a little background info....
    I'm a machine operator with just enough programming knowledge to get myself in trouble. We have 3 Doosan 4020 mills. Two of them are about 2 1/2 years old and the other is about 6 months old. All three run fanuc 21 controls. The two older machines we can program the door open M code at the end of the cycle in parenthesis and just open the door at the end of the cycle without having to push the door open request button on the control panel. The newer machine does nothing with this M code. And as an operator it's quite the pain to have to reach over and push the door open button every time. I've asked management to look into it and nothing so I'm trying to find the solution on my own. The only thing I can figure is it's an option issue even though all 3 are suppose to be the same, or it's a variation in the fanuc 21 versions(i vs ti?). Or was there an M code change?
    Thanks.

Out of curiosity, what M-code are you programming for "door open"?

M54

Strangely, both the old Daewoo manual and the newer Doosan manual designate M54 for "Parts Counter". The only reference I can find in the newer manual is M52 for "Auto Door Open".

Have you looked in the blue binder for a keep relay that may enable an M-code for door open request?

some controls allow you to just shut it off/on. go to your settings page on the screen.

The older machines didn't come with manuals for whatever reason although there was some documentation faxed as a supplement to the missing manuals. The sales rep helped us set them up for our particular needs which is mostly bolt holes in drums and hubs for tractor trailers and semis. So the M54 came from him I do believe. The newer one did come with a manual but us peons in the shop don't really have access to them in the off shifts as they are locked in the production manager's office.