586,903 active members*
2,813 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Home shop machinist makes first all A/L cnc router
Page 1 of 8 123

Home shop machinist makes first all A/L cnc router

Greeting everybody,
    I’m Rod from San Francisco.
    After reading thousands of post and many build logs, I decided to post my own cnc router build. It’s a modified version of the Data Cut machine. 90% all Aluminum.

I'm only a self taught home shop machinist so a lot of what I do is hit and miss. I can read most blueprints and plans and only have a general knowledge of cnc. Let’s just say, I know enough to be dangerous. I already had one visit to the ER.

In the past year when I started this project, I read 1,000 of post and many build logs which were very helpful. If I could not find the answer to my questions, I would try to figure them out myself. Now my build has got to a point where I desperately need some help.

I was hoping that this fine group would guide me along the final steps of this build and answer some basic as well as technical questions that I have.

This first post is to introduce myself as well as to get a feel of the dynamics of the membership.

This first picture show you what I am capable of, given time as well as money. Hopefully it will show that I am serious about this project.

Thank you all in advance,
    Rod
    San Francisco

looks pretty nice to me.

There's a lot of the home shop machinist types hanging around here, and that includes me. Looks good so far. What are you wanting to make with it? Anything in particular?

This place has a lot of helpful, knowledgeable folks. I put them to the test in my own build log recently and we're all completely stumped so far.

CarveOne
    CarveOne
    http://www.carveonecncwoodcraft.com

Hello Rod,