586,361 active members*
3,560 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > NEED A 5T EXPERT! MEMORY FULL, ALM-70? TAPE READER RUNNING??

Unhappy NEED A 5T EXPERT! MEMORY FULL, ALM-70? TAPE READER RUNNING??

Hi, all! Another Newbie here in distress!! Tried scanning some older 5T problem posts, looking for answers so I don't bother you guys for nothing, but no luck. So here goes. I bought an old P&W turnmate cnc lathe from a freind about a month back. I knew the machine was old, but I knew the machine, and my buddy was the original owner. Machine ran well until disconnected. Brought it down to my shop, and wired her up. So far I can jog and zero the axis, command moves in mdi., no problem. No alarm light on, and ready light is on. Try to go to edit and make a simple program, no-go. Comes up with alarm#70 (memory full) If i go into edit and scan, nothing is there?. Same in memory, can't find anything?? Went to the parameter page, all seems well there. Tried C-delete, nothing. Machine will work in MDI but will not take any info in edit. I never ran a 5T, maybe I'm missing something?? I know 6T's and old single display Yasnac 2000G's, I thought this contol was similar?? Next problem, I also cannot get the spindle to fire up. In jog it takes the command from the pushbutton on control CW or CCW, light comes on like its running but don't. Also in MDI, if I type M03, S500, it takes the info, but nothing happens. No signs of any alarm. Could these problems be related?? I also notice the the capstan roller in the tape reader is running. As soon as the machine powers up, it starts, and I cannot shut it off. Is this supposed to be happening?? Or again, is there major problems somewhere. I've checked what fuses I have found. Nothing seems blown?? Sorry for the lengthy post. I'd appreciate ANY help/info offered!!