586,154 active members*
3,852 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Have the milling machine, now I need tooling

Have the milling machine, now I need tooling

Hey, new guy here. Just to start off I have very little machining experience.

I've recently bought a 10" x 18" Craftex lathe and a Craftex milling/drilling machine second hand from a fella who stepped up to bigger equipment. I have used the lathe quite a bit and have some very basic knowledge learned in Highschool( 20 years ago!) and from videos on youtube.

I just got the mill wired in and have not used it at all. I have no tooling yet and really don't know what all I should buy. I know I need a clamp set, but the end mill holders has me confused.

It has an R8 taper, which I'm told is a very common type? I see R8 end mill holders that seem to only hold one certain size. Then I see R8 collets. Can I buy one end mill holder that will take all the collets that fit all the sizes? or do I have to buy a holder for every size end mill? Or do the end mills only have 1-2 shank sizes? I don't even know how they stay in the holder... Damn I have a lot to learn

I'm very excited to get going !

Thank you

Cory,