586,690 active members*
2,998 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tree > New Tree 325 Questions
Page 1 of 2 12

New Tree 325 Questions

Hey fellas. I'm new to cnc, i have a couple smaller manual mills that i have learned on over the last few years, and have finally taken the next step to cnc. I bought a 1991 Tree 325. It has the 3500 spindle with a Dynapath 20 control. I just have a couple quick questions, if anyone would be kind enough to help me with. I have the original manuals(For Dynapath control, and Tree 325), and reciepts for the mill(I bought it from the original owner). It comes wired for 230v, but for some reason they had it wired for 440v. Now i need to buy a phase converter for it, and am not sure what fits the bill. I have the 5 horse spindle, and know i should go with a 10 horse rotary converter, but does voltage play a major roll in this? Also, need to buy a compressor for it, any recomendations for this, as i only need what will be needed to get me by(I don't need air for any other machines in my home shop). Thanks in advance for any help, i'm honored to be a part of the forum. Also, please excuse my inexperience in the subject of cnc, all help is appreciated. -Thanks-

Question

SmoothMove,

Instead of a primitive rotary converter, why not get a VFD to run the spindle.

Welcome to the Zone,

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

Thanks for the response my friend. I guess thats a good question, i just don't really know what my options are. Do i only need the 3-Phase for the spindle itself, and everything else can be run from single phase? Again, please excuse my lack of knowledge here.

SmoothMove,

A VFD converts single phase to three phase to run the spindle motor.

The CNC controls should run off single phase.

Jeff...