586,675 active members*
3,184 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Seized Knee Gib

I really faked up. I had the knee lock set and forgot it. So today I started playing with peck drilling, and after quite a few pecks, the machine knee seized up. As soon as I realized what happened I loosened the lock and started dousing the Vee way above the lock with PB blaster, but its locked up tight as a drum.

I tried freeing the gib from the top but the slotted part of the gib was broken off. I also tried to loosen it from the bottom but it won't budge.

Gawd I feel sick. Even if I get it loose somehow the casting must be gouged now. Any ideas?

TIA

There have been several discussions about this over on practical machinist forums.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

After reading the post about complete disassembly and laying the column back to tap out the gib from underneath I was really feeling sick.

The story has a happy ending though, I just got the gib loose. I was thinking about jamming a rod under the gib, running the table back to the column, loosening the pedistal and raising it, then putting a bottle jack between the table and ram.

This morning when the factory opened I called Lagun and talked to a tech. He told me the way I planned was how they did it. Half hour later I had it done. No drama at all (at least till I got a quote on a replacement gib...) Whew!

Good for you!
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Thanks - I was really down this morning before talking to the Lagun tech. I'd just got a 4th axis installed as was really beginning to have fun with this machine till I broke it.