Mission: Build a robust cutting table with only X-axle movement (the part will be moved, not the cutting head), old IBH Modus Control System will be used for steering.

I have a quite special Trumpf 1500W CO2 Laser, it is ex-factory demonstrator (from 1994) and has two tables, one for Laser Welding and one for Laser Cutting. It spend the first years in Trumpf "road-show truck" and then it was installed in Laser Laboratory where it was hardly used at all (for the Laser unit the total hours are under 100).

I'm right now installing the laser to my premises and was thinking about upgrading the system in such way, that I would remove the welding area completely and instead fabricate a large cutting table. The cutting head is moving right now in Y/Z-axle and the table itself in X-axle. I have no purpose for Laser Welding as I'm a Coachbuilder by trade and most of my work has something to do with bodywork for vehicles. Currently I can cut dash panels etc., but would be a great benefit to create parts up to the size of the sheet metal panel (2m x 2.5m).

The Laser Welding unit has a separate steering system, and its easy to remove it from the system. I could keep the 2nd units as spare parts for the cutting station.