Hello, this is my first post, and i'll probably include a bit of new user introduction in various posts as well so you can understand where i'm coming from and what I do and don't know. Feel free to correct mistakes I have on anything if I say something that doesn't make sense or that shows I haven't thought something through yet.

I'm new to CAD, and new to machining. I'm currently in a planning phase. I want to be able to do hobbyist parts in the future - such as custom hot rod and antique car parts in example - and my main goal is keeping total costs of things down because this will be a hobby, not a business. If i'm able to build homebrew/DIY CNC equipment, or modify older NC equipment to do the job I hope to.

Right now i'm in sort of a planning phase and learning about things phase, everything from the software needed to the actual mills and such which will eventually make such stuff.

My specific question at the moment is concerning OLDER 6DOF CONTROLLERS, primarily 3DConnexion stuff since i'm not even aware of anyone else serving this market. (has anyone made a competing product?) Costing a few hundred $$ each normally the new ones get a bit pricey... and apparently driver support DOES expire over time. The only time these controllers actually get near-inexpensive is when they have expired from the newest available software apparently. Thus that is actually what i'm looking for...