587,495 active members*
3,108 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Encoder on stepper

I tried to search for info on this but I wasn't too successful. Sorry If Im posting a thread that was alread discussed. Possibly someone could link me to some info regarding this!

Anyhow.... Im in the process of designing my first CNC build. Ive been working on ideas for about 2 years lol.. Needless to say I am a bit obsesive compulsive when it comes to things lol.

My question is stepper motors with encoders. As a cost issue going servo may be out of the question. But I have read about hybrid steppers and steppers with encoders. Some info I have read was they run a lot smoother, quieter and have better torque etc. Is this true? Can I buy a stepper motor and outfit it with an encoder and supply it to the correct controller? Am I wasting my time with this? Is there any benefits?

There are no low cost controllers capable of full speed closed loop control of a stepper.

skubajon,
    Have you looked at Linuxcnc?
    http://wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl

Regards!
    Fernando

I did just now. You talking about the article where it will stop the process if it hits a certain amount of error?

Anyone have any information on closed loop controls? I couldn't find much anywhere

I think you may have a problem finding a PID closed loop drive for steppers?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.