587,223 active members*
3,265 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Okuma > Need some help programming a .750 radius

Need some help programming a .750 radius

Total newbie to Lathe programming, please excuse my ignorance flame away!

I need to cut a radius in the middle of my tubing roller dies to roll 3/4 tubing, see the attached PDF. I want to know what tool is the best to use, I have a .125 radius grooving tool or should I be using left and a right triangle tools and making 2 seperate programs, cutting one side of the radius at a time. I'm thinking that even if I use a 35 deg triangle there is no way to cut the radius in one program unless it is a neutral hand holder?

Not sure how to program this either, totally new to this as well as compound cycles. Could someone provide a compound cycle for this?

Thanks for the help!
    Attached Files Attached Files

Normal OD 80° turning tool for the facing and OD turning

Full radius grooving tool to rough and finish the 3/8" rad

hint--program the grooving tool to use the centre of the 1/8" rad
    and on your drawing, offset the blue line by 1/8" (outward ) to give the path that the 1/8" rad centre point would follow for finishing, the roughing passes would stay outside this area

Quote Originally Posted by Superman View Post
    Normal OD 80° turning tool for the facing and OD turning

Full radius grooving tool to rough and finish the 3/8" rad

hint--program the grooving tool to use the centre of the 1/8" rad
    and on your drawing, offset the blue line by 1/8" (outward ) to give the path that the 1/8" rad centre point would follow for finishing, the roughing passes would stay outside this area
    I agree 100%

I understand the offset but beyond that I have not learned how to create multiple pass canned cycles yet. I went to my NOT SO trusty Bobcad and came up with this program....it has a few flaws, can you guys take a look?