587,737 active members*
3,157 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Talking Need help starting

I hope this is the right area to put this in if it is not i apologize...

O.k. i am a complete and total newbit to this stuff. But i want to get into making dies for rfwelding and fabric embossing. The fabric embossing uses predominatly aluminum or magnesium dies and the rfwelding uses brass.

I just want a simple machine to cut in house stuff for the company i am starting (doing garment decoration). All i need is someting simple to learn if it takes 4 hrs to cut a die i am cool with that.

The original company i was looking for equiptment 2 years ago said they had their own machine they recommeded me buying but that was 50K and while i dont doubt i could make that money back, that a ***** to invest on a 35k machine. Now 2 years later i am seeing more info on metal engraving (that i can find) and its looking like i would have gotten HOSED spending all that money because its over kills and i think i can use a roland cutter or a cnc shark to do the same thing.

Has anyone ever cut dies of brass or aluminum or cheaper machines like that??? And how easy is this stuff to learn, i am a graphic designer so i understand vertor graphics pretty well (i can do illustrator in my sleep)

The guys at cnc shark make it look easy peasy doing this stuff but it intimidates me. I am not an engineer or a programmer so i am worried that will get over my head quickly with this. I dont know about bits and which are better for what metals or wood or what. I havent really seen anything here.

Does anyone have any tutorials on what i should be looking at to get more familiar with the things i want to do??? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

die examples

http://www.rfappliquewelding.com/app...d_examples.asp

if i am confusing you on what i want:

1: pointer to tutorial from someone like me a complete newbie to learn about using a mill or cutting metals.