587,787 active members*
3,329 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Limit swtich newbie question

Hello everyone, I am completely new to CNC electronics.

My recent project requires me to build the electrical part of a 3 axix cnc milling machine.

I have purchased the stepper motors, breakout board, gecko drives and power supply. What I need to do is to find suitable limit switches with good price.

Do I need 6 limit switches for 3 axis?

What are the limit switches you guys are using? I have been looking on the internet, there are roller, or leveler limit switches, what are the exact difference between them?

I want to keep my budget as low as possible. Thanks in advance to answer my stupid questions. Have a nice, fun and happy day.

mealman,
    OK, how many switches do you need, is a good question. On my mill drill,I use 1 switch for the X and Y axis respectively (2 switches) and on the Z, I use two switches.

On the X and Y, I used mini din switches from Automation direct (about $12 ea) on on the Z axis, I used micro switches (dumpster dive $0).

The X and Y switches are "coolant resistant" and well worth the money. The Z switches are out of the path of coolant and swarf so micro lever operated switches work just fine.

Repeatibility on all of the switches is good and I am happy.
    Art
    AKA Country Bubba (Older Than Dirt)

just how important is repeatability on your home switches? i guess if you were using a true fixture and running several copies of a part over the course of several start up cycles, then maby.. but for the average home user, just being able to home the machine within a few thou would would seem to be good enough for me.. cause i'm gonna manually jog over to my work anyway and re-zero there...
    Grizzly X3, CNC Fusion Ballscrew kit, 3 500oz-in bipolar steppers, 3 203v Gecko's, Linear power supply from Hubbard CNC, Mach 3, BOBcad Pro Art V22, Rhino.

[QUOTE=Bubba;344867]mealman,