587,833 active members*
3,221 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > EdgeCam > Edgecam Code Wizard help needed
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10

    Edgecam Code Wizard help needed

    When calling the RAPID TO TOOLCHANGE command, I want to have the code output two different options depending on whether or not it is the same tool coming back in, or a new tool.
    If the next tool is different from the current tool, I need the machine to travel to the G28 home position to update the offsets.
    However, in many cases we use this command to move the tool away from the part and stop the program for an insert change or to measure the part.
    In these cases, the same tool is coming back in again and we do not want to move all the way to the home position.
    The code below shows the additional logic (in red) that I think will handle this, but unfortunately I do not know the correct Edgecam syntax.
    Can anyone tell me what the Code Wizard format should be.




    ;CODE: @ZFIRST
    [DELETE][BLKNUM][RAPIDGCODE][ZMOVE][<C>COOLANT OFF]
    [DELETE][BLKNUM][RAPIDGCODE][XMOVE]
    IF NEXTTOOL = current tool %GOTO @END
    ;CODE: %GOTO @ALWAYS

    ;CODE: @DEFAULT
    [DELETE][BLKNUM][RAPIDGCODE][XMOVE][ZMOVE][<C>COOLANT OFF]
    IF NEXTTOOL = current tool %GOTO @END
    ;CODE: %GOTO @ALWAYS

    ;CODE: @ALWAYS
    [DELETE][BLKNUM] M5
    [DELETE][BLKNUM] G28 U0 W0
    [DELETE][BLKNUM] M0

    ;CODE: @END

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    60

    some tips along the way, but not a full solution

    Some tips that might help you:

    in the directory C:\Program Files (x86)\Planit\Edgecam 2011 R1\Language you can find cgcomp.chm. it´s the help file for the compiler and contains syntax for many things.

    after you compile your post you will get an intermediate .mxt file in
    C:\Users\%username%\Documents\Planit\2011.10\Edgec am\cam\Machdef

    this contains all the output from code wizzard.
    don´t edit this file, but steal syntax and read about why things happend.

    %LOAD SUBFUNCT
    loads info about tools (i did not do any full scale testing of this)

    I´m not sure that your approach is the best anyway. Move to toolchange will probably always give you next tool although you are not about to change tools yet.
    try outputing nexttool as a comment and se if it is unchanged when you just use this as a "move away"

    Another way of getting what you want is to declare your own M function

    Give it a good name (it will pop up in the sequence tree) and then add different options, give it a fake M number that is not common to other functions

    then under construct you can put your own code with if statments to check what options you used and output different codes including a comment with instruction like "change inserts" " meassure" and so on. i think this approach would give your programs better documentation at the same time.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    60

    M Function code

    ;CODE: %IF $MCODE=100 %THEN
    [DELETE][BLKNUM] L M0 ; Change something
    ;CODE: %ELSEIF $MCODE=101 %THEN
    [DELETE][BLKNUM] L M0 ; Measure something
    ;CODE: %ELSE
    [DELETE][BLKNUM] ; Totaly unexpected to end up here
    ;CODE: %ENDIF

    Added to options 100 and 101
    You can then later add an instruction under m_Functions -> mashine m-Functions

    if you name your macro: "ProgramHalt"
    and your options 101 named "Meassure"
    then you would see in the sequence tree a row with
    ProgramHalt : Meassure

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    125
    Bert,

    Use the following two variables in the 'rapid after' code con.

    Position will output the current tool number, and #nexttool will output the next tool number. Only #nexttool has the #prefix.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    125
    Forgot to add the line of ;code ....

    ;CODE: %IF #NEXTTOOL=POSITION @END

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10

    Thanks

    Thanks everyone who offered solutions. I went with meegers suggestion as, being limited in my Code Wizard knowledge, it appeared to be the simplest.
    It works exactly as I hoped it would -only change was that I put the suggested code in the 'RAPID TO TOOLCHANGE' code constructor, not the 'RAPID AFTER' as suggested.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    125
    Glad to be of help.

    Apologies for getting the code constructors mixed up, 'rapid from' instead of 'rapid to', but at least the same variables work.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    74
    The cgcomp help file is interesting, but kinda hard to understand by itself. Does anybody know of any resources or tutorials to learn the language? I have some Basic, some C++ experience, so I should be able to learn this if I had the resources.

Similar Threads

  1. Machine graphics in Code Wizard
    By sea-n-see in forum EdgeCam
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-21-2015, 08:27 AM
  2. NEED HELP WITH CODE WIZARD
    By modulus in forum EdgeCam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-24-2011, 01:05 AM
  3. Edgecam Code Wizard
    By KSTDIJA in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2005, 11:48 AM
  4. PCB Wizard. Gerber/2/nc code help
    By ynneb in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2005, 01:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •