587,913 active members*
4,057 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Looking for suggestions for making sculpted mdf panels
Page 1 of 2 12

Looking for suggestions for making sculpted mdf panels

I was wondering if anyone ever made these type of panels if so what was your process? I know it could be done with Bobart, but the machining time for a 4'x8' panel would be too long. I was thinking of drawing some lines that were distorted in the z plane and running a 1" or 3/4" ballnose.

I figured before I started playing around I would see if anyone else has already done this.

P.S. I thought Burr had a script written back in a previous version that accomplished this, but I couldn't find the old posts. I don't know much about scripts, but would be willing to learn.

Thanks
    Zach F.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 3d-wall-finish-027.jpg  

BobArt,pretty much limited only to your imagination for textures.You could also draw a small part of your pattern in 2D and then use utilities tools like stretch,deform to vary Z height.Them from there use Translate ,Copy to fill in the entire sheet.Machine using 3D Engrave then.

There are 2 things you ll need to do.

1) create a bobart textured surface.

2) use a planner tool path with a ball mill
    Al DePoalo
    Partner Product Manager BobCAD CAM, Inc. 866-408-3226 X147

Texture From Primitives

There are a number of different ways you can create textured panels using the BobCAD CAM software.

1) Texture from primitives

2) Photo Emboss

3) Manual tool path with a pattern

photo upload

photo sharing websites

I want to focus on using texture from primitives. Using the BobART we will create some stock and emboss with texture from primitives. Once we have our emboss model looking the way we want, we will use the planner tool path and a Ball Mill to cut.
    Al DePoalo

1) Draw a 12" x12" Rectangle with an origin of the bottom left
    2) Click on the BobART tab