587,790 active members*
3,398 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Controller & Computer Solutions > Information needed about North East Electronics MC3E

Information needed about North East Electronics MC3E

Hi, I'm a complete newbie in this area and this seems like the best place to start asking questions.

I acquired what looks very much like an Isel G027 flat bed and a North East Electronics MC3E machine controller with a bundle of wires about a year ago when it was about to be scrapped. Since then I have done very little with it, that is until now. Over the new year my (somewhat lackadaisical) efforts to track down the Z-axis paid off.. and now I have a larger pile of kit sat on my desk.

I've done a mixture of hunting through forums, experimenting, and digging about on the internet so far.

So far I've found out that a fair while ago NEE was taken over by another company. I have used the internet archive project to go back and look at old versions of the NEE website. I have found the product info page about the MC3E, but sadly the manual pdf was not archived. If anyone has this it would be great. (smcu_interface_pdf.zip seems to be the original file name)

Beyond that I have connected the motors and home sensors to the MC3E and fired it up. It moves freely and finds the datum points for X, Y and Z. I have also used the keypad DIG button to work out what serial settings it needs, and get X00000000Y00000000Z00000000R replies (with the numbers changing with position). The serial settings I have so far are 300 baud, 7 data bits, odd Parity. Not sure about the stops bits though, using 1 at the moment but 1 or 2 seems to make no difference.