587,333 active members*
3,131 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie Question

I am sure all of you guys will now this but I am just learning on a TRM. How do you guys deal with the tool length offsets when you manually flip a part over in a vise. I can reset the X and Y axis but all of my tool length offsets are off. Should I make two programs? One for the front and one for the back. Or can I put in a program stop and flip the part and reset my lenth offsets somehow while in the Auto mode? Thanks for bearing with me I am still learning.

i always use multiple programs. it is much safer.

side one done, flip re-indicate your part making sure everything is zeroed properly then run program 2. you do not do yourself any favors by trying to rush a part doing it the "quick way". often some some small detail is missed and either the part ends up scrapped, or a tool gets broken.

my 2 cents

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Westling View Post
    I am sure all of you guys will now this but I am just learning on a TRM. How do you guys deal with the tool length offsets when you manually flip a part over in a vise. I can reset the X and Y axis but all of my tool length offsets are off. Should I make two programs? One for the front and one for the back. Or can I put in a program stop and flip the part and reset my lenth offsets somehow while in the Auto mode? Thanks for bearing with me I am still learning.
    I have a trm and will either flip over the part and re indicate the tlo and run program # 2 for the second side or if its a flat piece sitting on parralels and the height is the same I will flip in over and still load the seperate program. But austin is right, rushing always seems to wind up making a mess.

Mark

Make it all one program.