587,394 active members*
3,621 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > CNC motor replacement/repair

CNC motor replacement/repair

Hi, At my highschool they have a proLIGHT 1000 vertical mill CNC, but its spindle motor does not run consitently, and it always makes a screaching sound (without and load). I am very new at machinese like these, and I was hoping that I could just BUY another motor with the specs given on their site, but I am having difficulty finding the correct source.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated by me, and all my fellow classmates.

The link to the manufacture page is : http://www.intelitek.com/products/pr...&pid=2&did=367

Check the motor bearings and brushes (if so equipped).

Add a drop of oil to the bearings. IF it helps, that DIDN'T fix it. Rather you only now know that the bearings are on their last legs. You can usually replace bearings at a fraction of the cost of a new motor.

Besides, you and your classmates would learn more by FIXING the problem instead of just BUYING a solution.

I will check that tommorow (equpped with SOME manual ), but I am not sure if it will be anything feasible to fix. I have been told that there has been about 3 different "technicians" that have attempted to fix it with no success. If it isn't anything easy to fix, what is the best way to buy a new motor and replace the old one?
    Thankyou

Once you are SURE it is the motor ('noise' can come from motor or other moving parts)

1. Contact the machine tool OEM
    2. Ask for tech support
    3. Discuss problem/issue
    4. Follow their advice.
    5. Ask to buy/download a parts/service manual. These usually have an exploded view which is helpful in servicing unit.
    6. Study item 5.
    7. See what's involved in repairing the motor if that is the REAL problem (IE quickly run motor on bench not hooked to anything) , if so proceed. IF not, then find true source of noise.

otherwise