587,103 active members*
4,399 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > HAAS MINI MILL Question (I'm pulling my hair out)

HAAS MINI MILL Question (I'm pulling my hair out)

Ok, I'm new to the HAAS field. I have a SL30 lathe that i am self taught on, and thats the same with the new Mini Mill we just got set up. I have looked all over in the manual for set up tricks when beginning a program and have had no luck finding an answer.

So my question is.

Is there a way to tell the machine your touching off on part zero with an edge finder and it calculates the offset for you?

Cause right now i have to touch off on my axis then move Z up and the axis in .100" then hit the zero part set. I would hope that HAAS has the same kind of fixture tools that our Fadal 4020 does. Cause at this point I'm not very happy with how Un-user friendly these machines are to set up compared to a Fadal.

So if there is the programs there or a setting that i cant find please let me know. I need to lower the set up time just for me. I'm in the military so i don't get paid for the per part rate or anything. I just don't like waisting time hitting a million buttons to set up tools and fixture offsets.

Also does anyone have a post for feature cam that works right the first time. The one i got keeps putting G00 and G01 in the same line after a tool change and i dont know how to fix it with out manually editing it on the machine

Thanks P/K

I haven't used a Fadal but I find the Haas control pretty easy to work with. It would be best if they would send you to either the mill or lathe training class. If you're near a local Hass Factory Outlet, they may provide that training, free of charge. Or they may have online training setup through the web. There are tons of tricks to using this control. Having a little background first will actually make the training much more worthwhile to you than if you were green to it.