587,656 active members*
6,716 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > Newbie, No entities found

Newbie, No entities found

Hello,
    I'm a cad newbie and playing with the evaluation copy. I was able to draw my part easily (to my amazement) but when I try to open it in several different types of cam software there is nothing visible. I followed the first tutorial and was able to save that part and view it in cam so I'm missing a step somewhere. Any help would be appreciated, Shepard

Solid models consisting of surfaces only, lack any 2d geometry until you extract an edge.

Also, the filetype you choose for export may automatically remove any lines and arcs that your working file does contain. So, you may need to export two files, one as the solid model, and another as a dxf containing text, dimensions, etc.

Or, your cam software may have a function to permit you to extract edges from your solid model.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Thank you
    If by extract an edge you mean extrude (just guessing) that worked for visualmill! If there is an "extract" function that will let me lay out my part in
    2d and see it on the cam software please let me know. At my infant stage of CAD/CAM it seems easier to add multipass to a 2d drawing in cam than to work with 3d.

OK, I found "extract." The help files seem to be saying that this will pull the 2d drawing to a particular plane. I originally built my part on the front plane and additionally tried extracting it to the front plane but it is still invisible in 2d on any cam software I try.