587,872 active members*
4,094 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Linear and Rotary Motion > Easy Q: Is 25" travel ballscrew enough for 24" bed?

Easy Q: Is 25" travel ballscrew enough for 24" bed?

Obviously I'm a newbie and I have an opportunity to pick up a 25" travel ballscrew. Am I thinking right that if the thing has 25" of true travel than that should be good enough for a 24" desired working area. I'm thinking 24" of travel + 1/4" each side for optical limit switch + 1/4" each side for a little spare.

Quote Originally Posted by NC_jimbo View Post
    Obviously I'm a newbie and I have an opportunity to pick up a 25" travel ballscrew. Am I thinking right that if the thing has 25" of true travel than that should be good enough for a 24" desired working area. I'm thinking 24" of travel + 1/4" each side for optical limit switch + 1/4" each side for a little spare.
    It is unlikely to be long enough. You need to take into account the width of the gantry or whatever the ballscrew is driving.

If it is a router gantry, say 3" wide, you will loose a couple of inches there. then there is the Z-axis, with a router attached, there is an inch or 2, assuming you have the z-axis off centre.

I'd suggest your usuable travel is more like 18", maybe 20"

Cheers,

Peter.
    -------------------------------------------------
    Homann Designs - http://www.homanndesigns.com/store

Oops, I screwed up, I meant to say that this is for the Y axis. Mentioning bed in the title was all wrong. I want to be able to move the router free and clear 24" in the Y direction.

Quote Originally Posted by NC_jimbo View Post
    Oops, I screwed up, I meant to say that this is for the Y axis. Mentioning bed in the title was all wrong. I want to be able to move the router free and clear 24" in the Y direction.
    Hi,

The Y axis will still have the same problem. The Z-axis will be 3-4" wide, so you will loose this.

Cheers,

Peter.