587,155 active members*
5,175 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Bar code scanning to load program to controller

I posted the following in the Controller & Computer Solutions, but this forum also seems appropriate and maybe I can get some views here of people that would not check my other thread.

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62075

I must preface this request by saying my experience with CNC machines and controllers is extremely limited. My background is in IT and I have had no contact with these technologies till very recently, so I apologize in advance if I make some blunders.

To cut to the chase, our company is studying the possibility of using bar codes to automatically download programs to the CNC machines to reduce setup times and avoid mistakes when typing program names/numbers.

We have over 16 different machines from different companies (colchester, mazak, gildemeister, emco, etc) with different controllers (fanuc, siemens, mazatrol, etc). Our DNC server is Cimco DNC-Max 5.

Not being familiar with this kind of technology, I'm not sure of the best way to go about this. So far I've considered two different options:

Option 1 - Interface with the DNC server to send the program to the machine automatically with a custom built tool. I'm not sure if this is even possible, and it raises the problem that mistakes could cause the program to be sent to the wrong machine. This would allow us however to use the same scanners for other purposes as well, and would be a common solution for all kinds of controller.