587,481 active members*
3,083 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

any pic experts?

I am using PIC16F628. Why do I get around 1V on RB04 and 5.5V on all other RBs? I am using RAs for step and dir inputs, RB0-3 for X axis and RB4-7 for Y axis and my Y axis is playing up because of the missing step on RB4. And I tracked it down to a 1V output on RB4. I cannot find anything in the documentation as far as RB4 is concerned (like for example RA0-4 being analogue as well as digital inputs, software settable or something similar)

I know what a burnt 16F628 looks like (i.e. - totally dead!) so I doubt I could've fried just a single output pin (RB4). Any ideas anyone before I go out and buy another PIC?

Oh, and BTW this is my controller/driver combo. I am a computer person by trade and in my line of work you learn to split things into manageable chunks or modules. Since I am new to electronics maybe what I have done is silly when it could've all been done on a single PCB but I thought splitting it all up makes it more manageable and easier to troubleshoot. Please feel free to slag my "design" off as much as you like. I am still learning. :withstupi

P.S. Transistors used are TIP122/BD901 and not TIP120 as per picture.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails driver.png   controller.png  

Would you kind electronic gurus please look at these and perhaps suggest what needs to be added to this setup (capacitors, diodes, transistors, tetrion field emitters, multiphasic discombobulators, etc...) so it looks like something a sane person might have "designed". Thanks! :wee:

Well I've burned out plenty of single pin i/o on PIC microcontrollers over the years. The rest of the chip would work just fine. I mark them as bad and use the chips for projects that don't require the dead i/o pin.

Do you have a schematic of the circuit? To hard to see how the PIC is hooked up from your two posted images.