587,083 active members*
2,791 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > G-Code Programing > Programming with conditionals and inputs/outputs (URGENT)
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Programming with conditionals and inputs/outputs (URGENT)

    Hey guys, I have a problem.

    I was assigned to do a project that involves using a CNC Machine to communicate with another device (specifically, a robotic arm).

    Currently, my knowledge on CNC programming is limited to G-codes and part programming, and I have absolutely no idea how to do this.

    If it's helpful, the CNC machine I'm working on is the EMCO Concept Turn 55, and I believe the software we're using is Sinumerik 840D. The hardware part of this is pretty much taken care of, for now. I was already shown the I/O ports of the machine, and have found that an LED indicator lights up when an input port receives a signal. My problem right now is how to program the machine to react to that signal.

    A quick search in the forums yields some information on macro/parametric programming, and I think that might be what I'm looking for. I have a few questions:

    1) Are there conditional statements in parametric programming, such as IF...ELSE?

    2) Is there any way to detect a signal from another device? I would like to do something along the lines of "IF signal detected THEN start machining"

    3) Is there any way to output a signal?


    I would also greatly appreciate it if you guys could show me any relevant resources online..

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    55
    Nilimpa,

    Try this site. It contains all of the manuals for the 840D control. We have a Matsuura here with and 840DI control but I've never done any interfacing like this before.

    The Sinumerik Macro does contain an IF... ELSE statement.
    As for #2 & #3 - I'm sure ther is a way to do it but I'm not sure how. Hopfully one of these manuals will help.

    http://www.automation.siemens.com/do...07_e&scope=all

    JK

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1498
    070910-2122 EST USA

    In a HAAS control there are M codes to work with ddiscrete inputs and outputs.

    See the on-line HAAS manual for mills. M51 to turn on a relay, M61 to turn off the M51 relay. Additional codes for other relays.

    M96 Is a conditional loop branch dependent upon on the state of a discrete input.

    Go to www.haascnc.com

    There also #-addresses relating to the discrete signals. Like #1000-#1031 for 32 inputs, and #1100-#1131 for outputs. To work with the #-addresses you need MACROS.

    .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    78
    Yes, parametric/macro programming uses If and While conditional statements, but it's not something you can learn overnight.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1498
    070922-1042 EST USA

    nilimpa:

    Did you ever solve your problem?

    .

Similar Threads

  1. E-stop and enable outputs
    By Drew in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2009, 12:18 PM
  2. inputs outputs
    By sintratech in forum Machines running Mach Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-01-2007, 08:17 PM
  3. Inputs/Outputs
    By UKRobotics in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 03:52 AM
  4. URGENT: 2J Quill return sping replacement -URGENT
    By NC Cams in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-14-2006, 05:48 AM
  5. Opto 22 / ICM outputs not working
    By mzartop6 in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2006, 05:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •