587,722 active members*
3,440 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > Macro commands not working over DNC
Results 1 to 20 of 40

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3735

    Re: Macro commands not working over DNC

    Not #CLEAR. Try V1=0, etc.
    #CLEAR probably removes/deallocates the variable from memory and frees up a memory slot.

    edit:
    EXAMPLE:
    #CLEAR This zeroes all macro variables
    # CLEAR V1 This line will zero only variable
    # CLEAR V1-V20 This line will zero variable
    # CLEAR V3-V7,V15,V30,V45-V60 This line
    then V15 and V30, then V45 through V60
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    516

    Re: Macro commands not working over DNC

    Quote Originally Posted by neilw20 View Post
    Not #CLEAR. Try V1=0, etc.
    #CLEAR probably removes/deallocates the variable from memory and frees up a memory slot.
    its like I said earlier though, I can program:

    #HEFFALUMPS AND WOOZLES

    and the program will either skip the line if there are line numbers, or it will exit if there are not line numbers. anything with a # doesn't get used when run over DNC, works great when run from internal memory

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3735

    Re: Macro commands not working over DNC

    EXAMPLE:
    N12 R8+50.0 This is variable R8 defined as 50.0
    N13 F+R8 The R8 transfers a value of 50.0 for the feed rate

    Note:
    Variables must be defined in the beginning of the program or just before
    they are used in the program. Variables are modal and retain their values
    after the termination of a program, after an HO, and after exiting from MDI.
    R variables do not have table storage like macro V variables. The
    programmer should always specify a value for an R variable; otherwise, the
    last programmed value will be used and will result in unpredictable
    machining.
    It appears that comments are anything after, and including '('

    Black boxes below are PDF's Full manual and Macro section
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    516

    Re: Macro commands not working over DNC

    Quote Originally Posted by neilw20 View Post
    EXAMPLE:
    N12 R8+50.0 This is variable R8 defined as 50.0
    N13 F+R8 The R8 transfers a value of 50.0 for the feed rate

    Note:
    Variables must be defined in the beginning of the program or just before
    they are used in the program. Variables are modal and retain their values
    after the termination of a program, after an HO, and after exiting from MDI.
    R variables do not have table storage like macro V variables. The
    programmer should always specify a value for an R variable; otherwise, the
    last programmed value will be used and will result in unpredictable
    machining.
    It appears that comments are anything after, and including '('

    Black boxes below are PDF's Full manual and Macro section

    thanks for the links - i already have these manuals and have read that paragraph before though. interestingly the R words seem to work over DNC, but any macro statement involving a # doesnt. and you have to use # to use any variables like V1, or more importantly FX1, FY1. I said below that the R words work. I use the L9101 R+1., and L9101 R+2. fixed subs already over DNC, and I use the R values generated by those subs just after they are run as in G0 X+R1. Y+R2. and that works just fine.

    I need to use the V variables, and the FX, FY etc. variables over DNC, or I cannot do enough math, and cannot store the results of the math in the fixture offsets. I don't want to be rude, but I spelled all this out already in this thread in as much detailed language as I know how to generate.

    I am suspicious that the macro codes do work over DNC for those with a slightly newer software version - which is more likely to be up to date with the manuals.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2012, 01:28 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 07:20 PM
  3. Dos Commands
    By LYN BYRD in forum Milltronics
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-01-2011, 04:21 PM
  4. G2 and G3 Commands
    By Bohemund in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 03:12 PM
  5. EMC & the G28/G30 Home commands
    By Javelin276 in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2005, 09:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •