587,485 active members*
3,477 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > setting work coordinates through program
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    0

    setting work coordinates through program

    Using a probe I have a program written to probe a tooling ball on a fixture mounted on a 4th axis and I have the values from that probing assigned to system variable #'s so I can do the math calculations to get to the actual fixture zero. What I want to do is take those values from the system variables and apply them to the g5# work offset values so when the machine is turned on daily It knows where it is. This is a setup program and only needs to be run once when the fixture is first set up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    781
    On most Mit and Fanuc controls the work offsets are available as variables.
    Code:
          Axis 1 Axis 2 Axis 3 Axis 4 ...
      G54 #5221  #5222  #5223  #5224
      G55 #5241  #5242  #5243  #5244
      G56 #5261  #5262  #5263  #5264
      .
      .
      .
    Locations for extended offsets are not so standard but your programming manual should have this info.

    You can also use G10 to put the results in the work offsets.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    0
    Thanks Andre, i was wondering about those variables.. i hadn't read the manuals enough really.

    __________________
    Leased line bonded adsl

Similar Threads

  1. Yasnac MX2 work coordinates.
    By PHD in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-15-2021, 09:21 PM
  2. Work Planes / Work Coordinates
    By MICFDI in forum Esprit
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-04-2014, 02:41 PM
  3. G154 Select Work Coordinates Help
    By chucker in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-13-2008, 09:39 AM
  4. losing work coordinates at power off
    By jlong58 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-27-2007, 11:31 AM
  5. Okuma Work Coordinates
    By firedog in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-10-2005, 12:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •