587,513 active members*
3,048 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    155

    4 vises and 4 work offsets

    I have a very large program 19 megs running right off the hard drive

    I really dont want to mirror tool paths

    So i figure I could have one program and 4 work offsets

    what would be the right way to call the program to each work offset

    Thanks for the help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    183
    I think you'd just want to call out each work offset, then run a subprogram using incremental moves so that you can call it at each new offset location.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    340
    You can try somthing like this :
    Code:
    G55 G90
    M98 P(number of your 16megs program)
    G56 G90
    M98 P(number of your 16megs program)
    [...]
    M30
    and so on , don`t forget to delete work offsets from your 16megs program, and put M99 instead M30.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    439
    are you willing to edit your program? If so I would break it up in to sub-routines based on each tool and have each tool run threw all 4 work zeros. This saves on tool changes. I have found that this will speed up the program a lot if you have 20 tools in an umbrella style tool changer.
    I'm not lazy..., I'm efficient!
    HAAS GR-408

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by automizer View Post
    are you willing to edit your program? If so I would break it up in to sub-routines based on each tool and have each tool run threw all 4 work zeros. This saves on tool changes. I have found that this will speed up the program a lot if you have 20 tools in an umbrella style tool changer.
    Its only one tool ... very detailed surfaces

    Thanks for all the help guys

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by pit202 View Post
    You can try somthing like this :
    Code:
    G55 G90
    M98 P(number of your 16megs program)
    G56 G90
    M98 P(number of your 16megs program)
    [...]
    M30
    and so on , don`t forget to delete work offsets from your 16megs program, and put M99 instead M30.
    I think im going to try your method ...

    what is the m98 and m99 ?

    I dont have a g and m code list @ home

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    3634
    M98 = Call subroutine
    M99 = Return from subroutine


    .
    Free DXF - vectorink.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    Quote Originally Posted by Switcher View Post
    M98 = Call subroutine
    M99 = Return from subroutine


    .
    On Haas M98 is the subprogram call to an external Onnnnn program.

    M97 is the subroutine call to a line number location within the calling program.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by Geof View Post
    On Haas M98 is the subprogram call to an external Onnnnn program.

    M97 is the subroutine call to a line number location within the calling program.

    How Does this work when your main program is running direct from hard drive

    Do i need to make the Offset program runnging from the hard drive also?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    439
    if you need a g and m code card here
    http://www.haascnc.com/custserv_updates.asp#custserv
    but you need to replace your M30 with M99 because when it reaches the end of the program it will stop and reset not move to the next work zero. Your M30 will then be placed in your M98 call program.
    it may be simpler to make a sub-routine call for 4 work zeros with in the program so you will not have to worry about one being on the hard drive and the other not.
    If you do it this way follow the same as described by pit202 but put it at the top of your program and use M97 not M98 and your P number calls a N line number with in the program
    I'm not lazy..., I'm efficient!
    HAAS GR-408

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    Quote Originally Posted by kojack View Post
    How Does this work when your main program is running direct from hard drive

    Do i need to make the Offset program runnging from the hard drive also?
    I don't think it does work.

    As I understand it running a program from the hard drive is equivalent to drip feeding through the serial port, but much faster.

    Also as I understand it for M97, and maybe M98 everything has to be in the controller memory. When it is on the hard drive it is not in the controller memory; chunks are transferred into a buffer memory and executed. The controller can only look ahead within the portion that is in the buffer; the M97 will not work because the line being called will be on the hard drive not in the buffer.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12177
    I looked it up in the addendum for ethernet and hard drive; it looks like you can do M98 from the hard drive.

    Go to this link, scroll down until you get to manual addendums and then you will see Ethernet/Hard drive Option. Click on that and you will find what you need on pages 4 and 5 under the section about File Numeric Control (FCN) Operation.

    http://www.haascnc.com/custserv_updates.asp#manualupd
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    155
    you guys rock ....

    i think i have it now ... just made my life easier
    :cheers:

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    439
    so what did you end up doing exactly
    I'm not lazy..., I'm efficient!
    HAAS GR-408

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-05-2019, 10:21 PM
  2. Work Offsets
    By RMT in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-14-2008, 04:49 PM
  3. Multiple Work Offsets
    By PinMan in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 10:41 PM
  4. work offsets
    By 5axisdan in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2005, 04:17 PM
  5. Work Offsets
    By new2cnc in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-30-2005, 04:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •