585,764 active members*
4,400 visitors online*
Register for free
Login Register
HEIDENHAIN Forum
Okuma > LB-15 questions

LB-15 questions

Hello, Thanks to many of you, I have my machine running. Now I'm trying to actually cut something, LOL. I haven't been able to get my hands on any manuals yet so please bear with me, I'm a complete newbie.

First question, I purchased a new set of soft jaws and jaw nuts, when I clamp the chuck on a piece of round stock, the jaws don't sit square on the stock, they are tight at the chuck end of the jaw but at the outer end of the jaws, I see daylight, is this normal?

Next, I can get the spindle to move and change speeds while in the MDI mode with some codes you guys provided me but when I'm in manual mode, I can only get the X and Y axis's to move. I can't figure out how to get the spindle to spin, I want to just face off a piece of stock in manual mode to get the feel and try setting up my tooling.

Thanks,
    Scott

To get the spindle to spin using MDI mode, first go into MDI mode type in M3(OR M4) S???? (enter desired speed) press WRITE, then Cycle start. Now go into MANUAL mode (the spindle will now stop) and simply press SPINDLE CW or SPINDLE CCW (depending what M code you entered in MDI) The machine will remember the speed you entered and you can move the axis to part off the component/machine the part in MANUAL mode.

As for the jaws I bore my jaws with an increasing taper from front to back for that reason, on the other hand a freind of mine simply uses very little chuck pressure "if the jaw is bored right you no need chuck pressure, Tai Le". Hope that helps. Robert

Thanks zanellan, that worked.

Robert, I'm not quite sure what you meen by boring the jaws with a taper, why wouldn't you bore them straight? I can't think of any reason why full contact wouldn't benefit in holding the work. If I'm on the wrong path here can you explain.

Thanks,
    Scott

Quote Originally Posted by NJC View Post