585,722 active members*
4,300 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

The best way to learn CAD

Hey guys I have no experience in this field but I would like to learn CAD for designing parts and such.What is the best way for a total newbie to get started learning I have 15 years in the autobody industry but would like to learn new things.Thank you for any help there is alot of info out there to confuse you.

Re: The best way to learn CAD

Hey Dude
    the best way to start is to get a demo or educational cad application, solidworks is a good one and Rhinoceros 3d , but there are many out there,
    go onto youtube there are heaps of tutorial videos showing from scratch.
    The key to good design is simplicity , in geometry and creation , it may sound crazy but you dont want to get into a bad habit of messy creations,
    learn how to draw a line or a circle or a rectangle, it is also important to learn the terminology used to create geometry , otherwise you can get a little lost if you don't know what a fillet is, other than what you eat!!
    next is to think of a part you want to design and just play until you get it right, next thing you know you'll be into it
    cheers

First you need to pick a CAD program; they are mostly completely different from each other. Learning to use one doesn't translate into skill in using a different one.

Do you want to do work in a commercial field? Than you should go with an industry standard: solidworks or autocad inventor for solid modeling, autocad for 2D work. Down side: $5000+ a copy. You can get student versions if you are a student, that will last for a year. Might be worth taking a course at the local vo-tech college to get you access to studentsiftware. If you are a veteran, solidworks will also let you get the student version.

Do you want to design stuff for yourself? Now the field opens up, and the options are much less expensive. Rhinocad and alibre are two common programs.