585,784 active members*
4,003 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > testing bobcad now feel like a chimp at a typewritter

testing bobcad now feel like a chimp at a typewritter

I've self taught myself a lot of programs, however I'm struggling with this software package. I want to use this mainly for the CAM, I've been using Meshcam on my home brew TAIG CNC mill , but looking to see if stepping up to a more robust CAM solution is going to help.

OK rant over, Question one, can someone point me in the right direction for creating a boundry or a way to tell bobcad not to machine the whole stock?? I'm working with a simple triagular shape, and don't see the need to rough out all the excess material on the outside when working on a triangular shape.

how would one accomplish creating a work holding tab for a 3d shape. Again Meshcam makes this EXTREMELY simple, was hoping for a similar fuctionality but with more options,

Attachment 261510

Re: testing bobcad now feel like a chimp at a typewritter

No need for boundrys or tabs on that part. Drill holes and bolt to tooling plate. If you profile rough then finish you'll only have two passes. I would bolt the slug down too. Dont pocket the inside, but profile by reversing the tool path direction. On the outside use circular entry at the middle of the bottom. On the inside plunge to z 0.0 then ramp profile, remove slug, circular entry to finish. When you get better at Bob you'll feel less like a chimp at a typewriter and more like a conductor an front of an orchestra.

Good point, a rough profile is what I would like to achieve, will hopefully avoid the inlaws for a few hours today and see if I can type out something legible today!

Anyone able to point me in the right direction for how to create boundaries for tool paths? Where can I find some decent manuals or tutorials? Bobcad after dark on YouTube seems to be a bit geared towards users already familiar with the system.