584,817 active members*
4,613 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Scared Handle Cranker Has PCNC 1100- HELP!!

Scared Handle Cranker Has PCNC 1100- HELP!!

I've been cranking handles since 1972- Bridgeports, lathes, all the usual stuff. I now have a PCNC1100 which I am kind of afraid to turn on. I tried a couple of the canned cycles- hole patterns. I now have a project that needs holes for D-Sub connector. In the past, I would drill some holes and free hand rough them out on the Bridgeport. The shroud of the connector would cover any roughness. I now have this impressive machine which, I assume(don't say it!!) which should be able to cut out a profile perfectly but I have no idea where to begin.
    Any help is deeply appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Dick

Re: Scared Handle Cranker Has PCNC 1100- HELP!!

If the version of Mach 3 that comes with the Tormach includes the NFS wizards this should be a no brainer for you. It has templates for some common electrical connectors built into the wizard. Some one will be along who knows for sure. Don't let the whiz bangs 1's and 0's box worry you. You can use the pendant to do anything manually that you could do "crankin' handles".

First of all welcome to the forum Dick!

I have had mine almost 3 years now, I bought new to learn the trade and to have something to do in my retirement years, I havent gotten the new worn off of it yet ha!
    I cranked handles too but only as a job shop type for what ever I needed in my business or hobby stuff etc.

Do you have CAD CAM programs yet? If so and you can draw it and cam it, it will cut it out.
    There are wizards that come with Mach 3 that are handy as well, I used the Text and the pocketing quite a bit starting out. I pretty much cad /cam everything now.

I used many scrap pieces of 2 x 4 cutoffs to practice on, and also did a lot of "air" cutting.

There are a lot of knowledgeable guys on this forum.