585,754 active members*
3,857 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Save .STL for Stock

Save .STL for Stock

Just as the title says.
    I really have not the want or need to save stock from simulation for the next operation.But I have to say it is pretty neat for the pedal car wheels.
    Only briefly playing with it before on simple stuff,I had not noticed any problems.Now on a somewhat complex 3D model I found out somethings.#1 It just about crashes and kills the computer #2 The .STL file is huge(one at 104 and one at 114 mb)
    I heard a couple gripes in the past about nuking the computer almost,,,,now I understand,hmmmmmmmmm

.STL files I have little knowledge of.Are they by nature that huge?Or is something going on in BoB in the shadows when saving ?

Re: Save .STL for Stock

Quote Originally Posted by jrmach View Post
    Just as the title says.
    I really have not the want or need to save stock from simulation for the next operation.But I have to say it is pretty neat for the pedal car wheels.
    Only briefly playing with it before on simple stuff,I had not noticed any problems.Now on a somewhat complex 3D model I found out somethings.#1 It just about crashes and kills the computer #2 The .STL file is huge(one at 104 and one at 114 mb)
    I heard a couple gripes in the past about nuking the computer almost,,,,now I understand,hmmmmmmmmm

.STL files I have little knowledge of.Are they by nature that huge?Or is something going on in BoB in the shadows when saving ?
    Hi James

Yep, the saved out .stl files will do that to you every time, I`ve been working with them for some time so I`m well aware of their issues, some of mine are over 250Mb, this does of course slow considerably launching the Simulation, does take a while for sure.