584,814 active members*
5,148 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Rapid Feed Rates ?
Page 1 of 2 12

Rapid Feed Rates ?

well, I'm new to Bobcad,, actually Bobcam for Solidworks V4 and I actually love it, not quite as good as HSMworks but HSM is just too much money and Bobcam is a excellent deal.

Only problem I have with it is the lck of documentation , tech support does reply very quickly but their answers are vague

So, my question is. How do I preserve my rapid feed rates? I know they are controlled in Mach3 but, it must be Bobcam's post processor that overrides these rapid rates. Considering I've used HSMworks, Fusion 360, Surfcam and Mastercam and never had this problem the only one factor that has changed is that I'm using Bobcam now

Thanks in advance
    Kyle

Re: Rapid Feed Rates ?

I know when I program things at work If the feed rate is the same or higher than the rapid it will all become rapids .

Quote Originally Posted by LEARN View Post
    I know when I program things at work If the feed rate is the same or higher than the rapid it will all become rapids .
    mine is taking on the cutting and plunge feed rates, which are about 15-30 in/min compared to the 100in rapids I used to have. I had a copy guys at work look at the posts and they said the post looks correct, but it certainly isn't . Kind of confusing why it's happening, could be something in Mach3 but it was fine with all the other softwares and I'm using the post from Bobcad that is written for Mach3, which they are partners with so I would like to think that it would be correct...

If I go and manually delete all the feed rates out of the g-code, then I get my z rapids back but my linear rapids are still stuck at the cutting feed rates

Ok gotcha .

What toolpath are you using? There are some 3D toolpaths that will only put out feed moves unless you command it to use rapids.