585,930 active members*
3,817 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Plasma, EDM / Waterjet Machines > PlasmaCam > Pushing the limits of the Samson 510 CNC plasma table
Page 1 of 2 12

Pushing the limits of the Samson 510 CNC plasma table

Hi, I am a newbie to all of this, having purchased my 510 table 3-1/2 years ago, and then allowing it to sit in the crate, unopened for two years before finally assembling it and allowing it to sit in the room for another full year. Too many interruptions!

Now I am several months into working with my table. I have not YET hooked up my HyperTherm PowerMax 85 plasma cutter. There is no ventilation in the room yet. So I have been working with routers, pens and other tools, using the carriage to see what the machine can do.

I figured out quick and painless way to mount a Sharpie PAINT Pen to the carriage to get the machine to draw out images for cutting with a jigsaw or whatever.

check out the video

Re: Pushing the limits of the Samson 510 CNC plasma table

Awesome JOE!

It never ceases to amaze me how versatile a plasmacam can be. Realistically, you could probably put any type tool that you want on the system. The servo motors on the plasma cam definitely make a difference when it comes to using multiple tools, especially the router apart from plasma.

Your pen holder is absolutely sweet! I made one once (not sure where I put it) with a small piece of PVC, a low tension spring and a slightly modified torch holder. But yours, by far, is way cooler (I love how it is mounted on the side).

Keep it up Joe and thanks for showing us the vid.

JAG

Wait until I create my first oil painting with the Samson 510 table. I am going to use several paint pens and lay down a full oil painting one layer at a time, and see how elaborate I can make it. Oh ... and one of these days, I'm going to hook up the plasma cutter!

Joe,