585,925 active members*
3,356 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Procunier Tapping Head ... last

I need to make a 25 pcs of an aluminum bus bar with various holes, steps and an M4x.7 tap hole (8X) per bar. Can I drill,cut and prep a hole size for the M4x.7 for all 25 pcs. then setup the Procunier to tap all M4x.7 (200X) ?.... Thanks in advance!

Re: Procunier Tapping Head ... last

No reason why not....

Regards,
    Ray L.

Quote Originally Posted by SCzEngrgGroup View Post
    No reason why not....

Regards,
    Ray L.
    Thanks! I'm a newbie, was told to drill and tap on the same setup. I should have spend the money on thread mills instead of procunier.

Quote Originally Posted by whagkangmakulet View Post
    Thanks! I'm a newbie, was told to drill and tap on the same setup. I should have spend the money on thread mills instead of procunier.
    Thread mills make no sense for M4 threads - they'd take MUCH longer, and the threadmill that can do that size would be VERY delicate, easily broken, and expensive.

No problem using different setups for drilling and tapping, as long as you use the same coordinate reference for both. Tapping heads are relatively forgiving on alignment, so being off a few thou won't make a bit of difference.

Regards,
    Ray L.

Thread mills make no sense for M4 threads - they'd take MUCH longer, and the threadmill that can do that size would be VERY delicate, easily broken, and expensive.

No problem using different setups for drilling and tapping, as long as you use the same coordinate reference for both. Tapping heads are relatively forgiving on alignment, so being off a few thou won't make a bit of difference.

Regards,
    Ray L.
    Thanks Ray! I see this bus bar work will come around again in the next few months. Would you recommend for me to get Tormach tension compression tapping head to accommodate the ATC feature for M4 tapping if the quantity tap holes doubled..(400 tap holes)?