585,737 active members*
4,900 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > BobCad Post Processors > Post processor 4th axis feed rate
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2

    Post processor 4th axis feed rate

    I am having problems with me feed rate [rotation speed on 4th axis]. When I export my tool path files the a axis rotation speed is not translated and is moving very slow as a result. When running a piece the movement along the y axis is unhindered however when a rotation of the a axis occurs i takes between 3-8 seconds to complete a movement that should take less than 1 second. I know the problem can be fixed by adding to or editing the post processor file. Here is a copy of my post processor. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

    +================================================
    +
    + G Code Wrap - Vectric machine output configuration file
    +
    +================================================
    +

    +================================================


    POST_NAME = "WINCNC GCode Wrap (inch) (*.tap)"


    FILE_EXTENSION = "tap"


    UNITS = "INCHES"


    ROTARY_WRAP_X = "-A"


    +------------------------------------------------
    + Line terminating characters
    +------------------------------------------------


    LINE_ENDING = "[13][10]"


    +------------------------------------------------
    + Block numbering
    +------------------------------------------------


    LINE_NUMBER_START = 0
    LINE_NUMBER_INCREMENT = 10
    LINE_NUMBER_MAXIMUM = 999999


    +================================================
    +
    + Formating for variables
    +
    +================================================


    VAR LINE_NUMBER = [N|A|N|1.0]
    VAR SPINDLE_SPEED = [S|A|S|1.0]
    VAR FEED_RATE = [F|C|F|1.0]
    VAR X_POSITION = [X|A|X|1.4]
    VAR Y_POSITION = [Y|A|Y|1.4]
    VAR Z_POSITION = [Z|A|Z|1.4]
    VAR ARC_CENTRE_I_INC_POSITION = [I|A|I|1.4]
    VAR ARC_CENTRE_J_INC_POSITION = [J|A|J|1.4]
    VAR X_HOME_POSITION = [XH|A|X|1.4]
    VAR Y_HOME_POSITION = [YH|A|Y|1.4]
    VAR Z_HOME_POSITION = [ZH|A|Z|1.4]
    VAR SAFE_Z_HEIGHT = [SAFEZ|A|Z|1.4]
    VAR WRAP_DIAMETER = [WRAP_DIA|A||1.4]


    +================================================
    +
    + Block definitions for toolpath output
    +
    +================================================


    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output at the start of the file
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin HEADER


    "( Diameter = [WRAP_DIA] Inches)"
    "( X Values are wrapped around the Y axis )"
    "( X Values are output as A )"
    "([TOOLS_USED])"
    "G0[ZH]"
    "G0[XH][YH]"






    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output for rapid moves
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin RAPID_MOVE


    "G0[X][Y][Z]"




    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output for the first feed rate move
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin FIRST_FEED_MOVE


    "G1 [X] [Y] [Z] [F]"




    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output for feed rate moves
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin FEED_MOVE


    "G1 [X] [Y] [Z]"




    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output for the first clockwise arc move
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin FIRST_CW_ARC_MOVE


    "G2[X][Y][I][J][F]"


    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output for clockwise arc move
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin CW_ARC_MOVE


    "G2[X][Y][I][J]"


    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output for the first counterclockwise arc move
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin FIRST_CCW_ARC_MOVE


    "G3[X][Y][I][J][F]"


    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output for counterclockwise arc move
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin CCW_ARC_MOVE


    "G3[X][Y][I][J]"




    +---------------------------------------------------
    + Commands output at the end of the file
    +---------------------------------------------------


    begin FOOTER


    "G0[ZH]"
    "G0[XH][YH]"
    +"M5"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538

    Re: Post processor 4th axis feed rate

    What control software are you using?

    If Mach3, go to config > toolpath and enable 4th axis feedrates. Then enter the axis radius on the settings page. If Z zero is the center of rotation, enter 0 or .001.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2

    Re: Post processor 4th axis feed rate

    I am using an old shopsabre WINCNC controller. When I open the configuration it brings me to my WINCNC.ini file




    timertype=7200
    steppulse=p5d5
    g09=s50
    maxstepv=50000
    accel=s30


    [Axis Settings]
    axischar=XYZA

    [X Axis]
    axisspec=p0 s0 d0 r1587.12 a400 k1 o1
    axisvel=r300 f300 s20 m150 h300
    axislo=p3 b1
    altaxislo=p3 b5 o0

    [Y Axis]
    axisspec=p0 s1 d1 r2116 a400 k2 o1
    axisvel=r300 f300 s20 m150 h300
    axislo=p3 b2 d100


    [Z Axis]
    axisspec=p0 s2 d2 r5080.5 a400k3 o0
    axisvel=r200 f200 s5 m20 h150
    axishi=p3 b3
    axislo=p3 b0


    [A axis]
    axisspec=p0 s3 d3 r500 a3000 k4 o0
    axisvel=r1200 f1200 s5 m50 h1200



    [Arc Settings]
    arc_err=.01


    [Soft Limits]
    lolim=x0 y0
    hilim=x48 y37 z0
    lobound=z0
    softlim=t1m1

    [Auxin]
    auxin=c1p2b5o1d5
    enab=c1 m"Emergency Stop"t2


    [Auxout]
    auxout=c2p7b7[spindle]


    CMDAbort=m98 abort
    helpfile=none.txt

    [Abort Cushions]
    lim_cnt=20
    esc_step=3000
    lim_step=500

    CMDRestart=m98 restart.mac
    Table=x0y0h37w48

    [G37 settings]

    g37=x0.584 [d-.0] f19
    lim_mode=1

    [G28 Settings]
    g28move=z-.25 r.5 f75
    g28move=x.5 y.5 r.5 f75

    [Data Directory and Search Wildcard]
    filetype=*.TAP;*.NC;*.H
    Rapid_Lock=0

Similar Threads

  1. 4th Axis Feed Rate Problem
    By dkaustin in forum SprutCAM
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 06:52 PM
  2. Fanuc-mill, Feed rate 4th axis???
    By TheDane in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 09:11 AM
  3. Z-axis feed rate
    By Richotech in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-03-2009, 03:13 PM
  4. Axis feed rate drops to zero then back to normal
    By TurboBlazerX in forum Fadal
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-20-2009, 02:52 PM
  5. c axis feed rate on a turn /mill machine
    By bike in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-30-2008, 12:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •