585,775 active members*
3,980 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Paxton/Patterson CNC rebuild

Question Paxton/Patterson CNC rebuild

Hello!
    I am a high school teacher that retired from manufacturing. I am teaching materials and process and manufacturing. I have found a Paxton/Patterson CNC Mill and Lathe in the conner. I have discovered that they are from 1996, and they work in manual mode. The boards look good, but doing some research and reading many other forums here, it would be best to scrap the Optistep control board. It needs a card and talking to it would take me a long time to figure out and build something. I am going to use my money, so I need to be low cost, but I would pay a little more for something more robust and reliable. i can always fundraise, but I want my students to be able to understand and learn to use and program CNC machine centers by hand and by use of CAD via CAM software using the engineering design process. I have already rebuilt much of the other equipment in the lab.
    So I believe the the answer is to purchase a new modern up to date controller board and controller software for these machines and rewire them to the new boards. I have a few questions you may be able to help me with. The machines are basically Sherline Mill and Lathes with microkenetics motors. They still work.

• What do you like and have found to be a reasonable and robust control board/software set up? (Xylotec, Gecko, other?)
    • These machines have a motor controller for the spindle as well. What would you recomend?
    • Would like to run both from the one school computer. Best to use USB/RS232 connectors or other?
    • Is there a turn key or semi-turn key pacakage?
    • Have you done this already?
    • Would like to have 4 axis controller for expandability later to 4th axis. (Optional)
    • Need to be run off of a PC using XP or newer.