585,599 active members*
3,647 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Part Home / Tool Setter C Code Fix

Hi guys,

I came across a video on Youtube of a cool little fixture that is used for zeroing the corner of a part. I decided to try and write my own code for this but the machine seems to go spuratically when i set this and push the zero button in KmontionCNC.

I'm new to C programming so this may be full of issues or there could be something small i am over looking, could someone help me review this and see if they can figure out where i am going wrong?

I am trying to duplicate the motion seen in this short video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZLW7knSICk

My Code is attached, I tried to comment all throughout it so that it's easier to follow:

I have tried to make it universal so that all can use it once i get it working i will share it.

Thanks,
    Dan

Re: Part Home / Tool Setter C Code Fix

Have you tried asking the guy who made the video if he would share his code?

Ben

Others haven asked on youtube for the code and he hasn't shared it.

Hi Dan,

Thanks for offering to share your code.

The main problem I see with your code is with this:

while(!ReadBit(20))
    Jog(Y,0); // stop Y motion

You are basically missing a semicolon. The syntax structure of a C while loop is:

while (condition) statement;

The while loop keeps executing the single statement while the condition is true. C statements are terminated with semi colons. BTW If you need multiple statements to be executed you can group the statements into a single "block" using curly brackets.

But in these type of situations we normally want to do nothing while the condition is true (simply wait). So we put nothing followed by a semi colon like this:

while(!ReadBit(20)) ;

The code without the semicolon causes the following Jog command to be executed continuously in the loop. Calling continuous Jogs without any time for the newly created trajectory to even begin causes problems.